## COUNCIL

# Monday 9 June 2014

COUNCILLORS PRESENT: Councillors Abbasi (Lord Mayor), Simmons (Deputy Lord Mayor), Humberstone (Sheriff), Altaf-Khan, Anwar, Baxter, Benjamin, Brandt, Brown, Canning, Clack, Clarkson, Cook, Coulter, Curran, Darke, Fooks, Fry, Gant, Gotch, Haines, Hayes, Hollick, Kennedy, Lloyd-Shogbesan, Malik, Paule, Pressel, Price, Rowley, Royce, Sanders, Seamons, Simm, Sinclair, Smith, Tanner, Turner, Upton, Wilkinson and Wade.

## 1. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2014/15

Councillor Bob Price proposed and Councillor Jean Fooks seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Mohammed Abbasi be elected as Lord Mayor of Oxford for the Council Year 2014/15.

Councillor Abbasi took the Chair from Councillor Sinclair and then made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

# 2. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2014/15

Councillor Ed Turner proposed and Councillor Sam Hollick seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Craig Simmons be elected as Deputy Lord Mayor of Oxford for the Council Year 2014/15.

Councillor Simmons made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

### 3. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2014/15

Councillor Anne-Marie Canning proposed and Councillor Scott Seamons seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Rae Humberstone be elected as Sheriff for the Council Year 2014/15.

Councillor Humberstone made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

#### 4. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Oscar Van Nooijen, Richard Tarver and Councillor David Thomas.

#### 5. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE LORD MAYOR

The Lord Mayor welcomed all newly elected Councillors to the Council.

#### 6. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Chief Executive reminded the Council there was no need to re-elect the Leader of the Council (minute 7).

#### 7. ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Council noted that at the Annual Meeting of Council in 2012 (minute 9) it had elected Councillor Price as Leader of the Council for a four year term to 2016, as the law required.

#### 8. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2014/15

The Head of Law and Governance submitted a report (previously circulated, now appended) which invited Council to appoint Committees for the Council Year 2014/15 and Members to serve upon.

Councillor Fooks raised the issue that the opposition group only had one member on the Scrutiny Committee whilst the Green Party had two and this restricted their ability to effectively scrutinise the Executive. The administration stated that scrutiny work was not restricted to Scrutiny Committee members and that all opposition members could be involved in the scrutiny function.

#### Council resolved to:

- (a) Note the arrangements for determining Political Groups and achieving political balance within the Political Governance arrangements;
- (b) To appoint the bodies as currently defined within the Council's constitution and included in the table at paragraph 9 of this report;
- (c) To agree the amended nominations to committees made by political groups (document attached)
- (d) To appoint a member to the Joint Oxfordshire Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee;
- (e) To agree that all members of Council will form the pool of members able to observe on appeals and some grievances;
- (f) To authorise the Head of Law and Governance to make any changes to the constitution as a consequence of these decisions.

#### 9. REPORT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Price thanked Councillor Cook and Councillor Curran for their work on the City Executive Board over the last year and welcomed Councillor Sinclair and Councillor Simm onto the Board.

### 10. COUNCIL SCHEME OF DELEGATION

Council resolved to reaffirm for the Council Year 2014/15 its agreement to the Council's Scheme of Delegation set out in Section 5 of the Council's Constitution.

The meeting started at 4.00 pm and ended at 4.10 pm



# Minute Item 8

# **Seat Nominations 2014-2015**

Committee	Labour	Liberal Democrat	Green
Licensing and Gambling Acts Committee	Laurence Baxter Mary Clarkson Colin Cook Van Coulter Steven Curran Mark Lygo James Fry Scott Seamons Dee Sinclair Rae Humberstone	Steve Goddard Mike Gotch Liz Wade	Dick Wolff Ruthi Brandt
Oxfordshire Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee	Susanna Pressel		
Appeals	All Members of Council		
General Purposes and Licensing Committee	Mary Clarkson Colin Cook Van Coulter Rae Humberstone Ben Lloyd- Shogbesan Mark Lygo Pat Kennedy	Andrew Gant Gwynneth Royce	Dick Wolff
Appointments Committee	Bob Price Gill Sanders Ed Turner Pat Kennedy	Jean Fooks	
Audit and Governance Committee	James Fry Roy Darke Mike Rowley Scott Seamons Van Coulter	Jean Fooks	David Thomas
Standards Committee	James Fry Susanna Pressel Gill Sanders Val Smith Bev Clack	Gwynneth Royce	Dick Wolff

Committee	Labour	Liberal Democrat	Green
East Area Planning Committee	Mary Clarkson Van Coulter Roy Darke Ben Lloyd- Shogbesan Michele Paule Farida Anwar	Mohammed Altaf Khan Ruth Wilkinson	Ruthi Brandt
West Area Planning Committee	Anne-Marie Canning Bev Clack Colin Cook Bob Price John Tanner Oscar Van Nooijen	Andrew Gant Mike Gotch	Elise Benjamin
Planning Review Committee	Laurence Baxter Pat Kennedy James Fry Mark Lygo Dee Sinclair Ed Turner	Jean Fooks Steve Goddard	Sam Hollick
Scrutiny Committee	Van Coulter Roy Darke James Fry Ben Lloyd- Shogbesan Gill Sanders Val Smith Farida Anwar Louise Upton Tom Hayes	Mohammed Altaf Khan	Sam Hollick Craig Simmons
Disciplinary Committee	Bob Price Van Coulter Susanna Pressel		Elise Benjamin